Homayoun Rahimian Iran's National Orchestra permanent conductor

  February 19, 2024   Read time 1 min
Homayoun Rahimian Iran's National Orchestra permanent conductor
Ali Rahimian, also known with the artistic name of Homayoun Rahimian, has been appointed as the permanent conductor of Iran's National Orchestra by the managing director of Roudaki Foundation Mehdi Salem.

Rahimian, 69, is a musician, conductor, and composer. He holds a bachelor’s degree in music from the University of Arts and has received a first-class artistic degree from the Ministry of Culture and Islamic Guidance, Honaronline reported on Wednesday.

He was the first musician of the Chamber Orchestra of the Radio and Television of Iran. He has also served as the senior member of the Expert Council of the Music Unit and the High Music Council of the Radio and Television Organization.

Being a prominent violinist, during his professional career as a composer and musician, Rahimian has composed over 100 pieces of music.

Iran's National Orchestra was founded in 1998 under the conduction of the renowned Iranian composer Farhad Fakhreddini.

Maestro Fakhreddini attracted a huge number of musicians, including legendary vocalist Mohammadreza Shajarian, to collaborate with the orchestra.

The orchestra had been formed by Persian traditional instruments, strings and woodwind instruments. During its history, the orchestra focused on Persian composers’ compositions including pieces by renowned figures such as Fakhreddini, Ali Tajvidi, and Hossein Alizadeh among others.

In its last performance, the National Orchestra of Iran, conducted by Rahimian, paid tribute to Arbaeen with “Farewell” concert at Tehran’s Vahdat Hall on August 30 and 31, marking the 40th day after Ashura, the martyrdom anniversary of Imam Hussein (AS).

Conducted by Rahimian, the concert was accompanied by prominent Iranian vocalist Hesameddin Seraj.

The next concert of the Iran's National Orchestra will be held on October 20 at Vahdat Hall with pieces by famous composers Javad Maroufi, Hossein Dehlavi and Ruhollah Khaleghi.

Write your comment